Winter Walking

What does one do on Block Island in the winter? Quite a lot – e.g. some great environmental films from Ocean View Foundation – last week’s was “Chasing Ice

Joined in The Big Read – the Island Free Library and Tomaquag Museum

Getting ready to give a “talk” at the Library (my old favourite, Emotional Education)

Starting, if I can, a U3A on Block Island (that is University of the Third Age, none in USA yet)

Not much time for posting – but always time for walking the beaches – wintry, snow-covered, light and shade and sea and sky. I want to be writing too, will get there, in the meantime, enjoy the photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “Winter Walking

  1. Hudson Howl

    Snow! it soothes me, though -30C makes me grumpy. Enjoy your walks. Walking beats yoga buns down. Eastern cultures have their zen mediation. Walking I think is the western version, though the practitioners of walking don’t tend to yammer on about it or convert the stationary.

    When I lived on the east coast, in Halifax, it was the intense March storms that battered the ‘rock’ is where you would find me, when I had the time.

    Heading for your ‘links’ now.

    Reply
    1. elspethc Post author

      I started out with U3A in Edinburgh and when I arrived in New Zealand for a long visit got so many friends through making contact there, I thought I would do the same here. There is something called elderhostel in USA but it tends to be connected to a university, more like extra mural education. And of course we are on an island – no handy university! So we are going to have a U3A!!

      Reply

What do you think?

