Dear March – Come in

The Scottish Poetry Library sent along a reminder – it is nearly March. Someone else needs a reminder – it was snowing again yesterday.

hawk

hawk (Photo credit: bagsgroove)

Hawk in Flight

Hawk in Flight (Photo credit: sonstroem)

I saw a hawk in flight soaring over the brush a few minutes ago.

I have no idea what sort it was – medium size.

I am at my son’s home, dog-sitting. Finlay thinks I should go out to play.

Dear March – Come in

by Emily Dickinson

Dear March - Come in -	
How glad I am -
I hoped for you before -
Put down your Hat -	
You must have walked -
How out of Breath you are -	
Dear March, how are you, and the Rest -
Did you leave Nature well -	
Oh March, Come right upstairs with me -
I have so much to tell -

I got your Letter, and the Birds -	
The Maples never knew that you were coming -
I declare - how Red their Faces grew -	        
But March, forgive me -	
And all those Hills you left for me to Hue -	
There was no Purple suitable -	
You took it all with you -	        

Who knocks? That April -
Lock the Door -
I will not be pursued -
He stayed away a Year to call	
When I am occupied -	        
But trifles look so trivial	
As soon as you have come

That blame is just as dear as Praise	
And Praise as mere as Blame -

- See more at: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/22829#sthash.v2k10tYV.dpuf

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Dear March – Come in

  1. Hudson Howl

    March has been tapping on the window behind me all morning as I tinker on me ‘shtufffs’.

    “let me in, let me in”, I hear the pleading cry.

    And if I read you correctly, perhaps it is foolish and premature to put much hope in March just yet. It was -26C before windchill a couple hours ago. Maybe March wants in as it just realized it has arrived to soon; Winter still rules the roost at least in this neck of the woods.

    Am thinking Finlay well get his way.

    Thanks for the ‘Emily’, thanks for moment and the thought attached to it.

    Reply

What do you think?

