Love … and life

inspired by the Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

a poem and a photo of one of my grand-daughters both remind me of life… and remind me that I can be in love any time I open myself to life (easy to say, but shamingly easy to forget how to do).

Self-Portrait

by Mary Oliver

I wish I was twenty and in love with life
and still full of beans.

Onward, old legs!
There are the long, pale dunes; on the other side
the roses are blooming and finding their labor
no adversity to the spirit.

Upward, old legs! There are the roses, and there is the sea
shining like a song, like a body
I want to touch

though I’m not twenty
and won’t be again but ah! seventy. And still
in love with life. And still
full of beans.

“Self-Portrait” by Mary Oliver, from Red Bird. © Beacon Press, 2008.

IMG_2046

Once upon a time … … …

I also turned cartwheels – my body remembers well, it just doesn’t actually do it any more.

21 thoughts on “Love … and life

  1. I’m so grateful for being shown this poem. In the words of the Quaker George Fox, it spoke to my condition. It will become my mantra.

    Like

  2. A handstand or cartwheels on the beach; now you gotta know am grin’n ear to ear here, as my own imagination takes off. Upside down, legs in the air, eyes out to sea. Here’s to beans! Now am off to find pictures of beach roses I have taken, time to rem·i·nisce……….you could do cartwheels and handstands, I never could , ever.

    Like

    1. I do like how you comment – now i’m grin’n too – beach roses, folk to connect with, doesn’t always happen and I’m thinking of your great photo of Payo Valdes and that rare true friendship you recognise – here’s to beach roses too

      Like

    1. I would never have guessed that – all the stories of Big Al and Mac and the kitten/cat had given me a picture of someone forever in a cartwheel – in the best possible love of life way of course!

      Like

What do you think?

