That shutdown: thoughts and theories

Especially to all my USA friends and family after the ‘shutdown’. I have been watching and hoping from NZ that all this absurdity would not prevail and more – not harm or hurt any of you too much. I thought it was all blackmail and irresponsibility, etc etc, but also wondered about how this came to be. It is not just OK to make judgements, or have hopes, I think I need to think too. Try this post Global Debt, Global Currency from someone who manages to think differently and make some sense – at least it seems to me to make sense.

Most of us (or those I talk to most) feel somehow that the whole world is caught in some mad system where ordinary lives and ordinary folk don’t seem able to do anything much about it. Get to the end of Global Debt Global Warning Currency and you might feel you still can’t do anything much. But… there is thinking that is different… and NOT ‘out of the box’ into unreality. So maybe if thought does matter, having a different thought in my head will mean I find a some way somewhere.

I left that Freudian slip of Warning instead of Currency in on purpose. Tells you something about me – my fears for my wonderful grandchildren and all their generation, this world, etc.

Official photographic portrait of US President...
Official photographic portrait of US President Barack Obama (born 4 August 1961; assumed office 20 January 2009) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

[And maybe those other heads stuck in the sand showing their other parts will manage a bit of change too… ha ha…

or at least we will be less stunk and stuck by them. Good on you Obama for holding on – you must have aged years in the last few weeks. ]

I also think this economics on which the world runs its affairs is based on mistaken theory [how daft is apparently endless need for ‘growth’] and that this is similar to climate change, conservation, green ecology etc etc. WE are part of the problem we are in, there is no utopian way out. WE change, and something else will change too, and we DO NOT KNOW what the future will bring, only that our life in the present is what it is founded on.

What will you do today?

I am off to play with/look after/ two six-year-olds who already span different cultures and look to the future with more sense than some so-called adults.

9 thoughts on “That shutdown: thoughts and theories

    1. The ‘shutdown’ mattered (I think) because it took place – whether or not any person was inconvenienced or benefited. That said, behind saying it is my belief that contrary to much of the propaganda we have had for thirty or more years, Government is a good thing – it is the means by which a society recognizes that personal or own group view is not good enough, own group will by default consciously or unconsciously push its own agenda. Thus if government too is hi-jacked or owned by ‘just one group’ it is dysfunctional and the shutdown was about a declaration that one group could NOT hi-jack and blackmail another point of view.

      I do not want to see any government ‘coffined’. Rather I want to see governments as functional as they can possibly be for the society for which they work.

      I am not fond of Golem’s post nor unfond, I just like any post that attempts to think with a wider perspective. For instance he has a series of posts on Syria which are also worth a look. He thinks well and widely – my post was really trying to say that is something each of us should do.

      Thanks for the comment – I got some more clearer thinking here myself.

      Like

    2. I just replied to another comment – Hudson’s below. Hope it does not make you feel nauseous as well. I am not sure where your comment puts you in the spectrum of thinking! One could be sickened by either point of view/action sometimes

      Like

  1. Oh, I’ll be coming back to this.

    To be honest I really was not all that concerned with the shut down, it actually made me money. Though I did think this was just another nail in the coffin of government, in this case the American government, which needs a major overhaul -same government that cannot pass a Gun Law since Sandy Hook. And am not sure I am as fond with Golem XIV ‘s post as you might be, it is definitely nothing new -go buy groceries in a supermarket, hello Corporate State with a global connection. That said I really have to look at what he is saying, but anything that makes us read and think is well worth a few more reads to see what falls out.

    Like

    1. The ‘shutdown’ mattered (I think) because it took place – whether or not any person was inconvenienced or benefited. That said, behind saying it is my belief that contrary to much of the propaganda we have had for thirty or more years, Government is a good thing – it is the means by which a society recognizes that personal or own group view is not good enough, own group will by default consciously or unconsciously push its own agenda. Thus if government too is hi-jacked or owned by ‘just one group’ it is dysfunctional and the shutdown was about a declaration that one group could NOT hi-jack and blackmail another point of view.

      I do not want to see any government ‘coffined’. Rather I want to see governments as functional as they can possibly be for the society for which they work.

      I am not fond of Golem’s post nor unfond, I just like any post that attempts to think with a wider perspective. For instance he has a series of posts on Syria which are also worth a look. He thinks well and widely – my post was really trying to say that is something each of us should do.

      Thanks for the comment – I got some more clearer thinking here myself.

      Just discovered I replied this to someone else – over a week ago – apologies

      Like

What do you think?

