Traveler’s tale and dubious philosophy

The previous post “Manawatu” was written at Palmerston North airport (first airport of this journey) on 31st October, New Zealand time. I have just discovered that apparently it did not publish which must have been because my flight was called and I happily closed the computer thinking it had gone to that great WordPress cloud/sky/whatever which is much more impressive than the mere word “server”. As far as I can calculate at the moment – being in a still-have-not-arrived-state of utter autopilot – that was over 40 hours ago and I still have not reached Block Island. I am in a hotel in Boston. (This state of affairs was caused by a faulty plane which was withdrawn from service so we had a 10 hour delay in Auckland, and the knock-on failures to connect all the rest of the way)

Boston – after 40 hours of canned air and indoor seating and walkways – I discovered here it is a quite beautiful autumn. I remember the equally beautiful Palmerston North spring green I have just left behind. What amazing possibilities we have now, travel and internet, etc. [How to look after it all, what is ‘being green’?]

Boston - autumn colour on a street in the South End
Boston – autumn colour on a street in the South End

While on the 10 hour wait – as always happens – people got to talking together – everyone was good-natured though some had plans much more disrupted than mine. I expect to get home to Block Island sometime. I confessed to a friendly soul that one reason I liked the actual traveling time, even when disrupted, was that there was absolutely nothing I was expected to do about it, other than wait to be told “what next”. This is so even without delays – I have given myself over to the airline, train and ferry operators – I do not even worry if something runs late and the connections will not be made – all I have to do is arrive at the next gate or desk and ask for help, or enquire what alternatives can be provided. There is an awful lot of sitting about, and canned air to breathe, energy is not required, just patience.

This trip, I have been given umpteen ‘snacks’ which I could do without, before getting on to the replacement plane which turned out to be the most modern and comfortable I have been in. The NZ airline new long distance planes have something in economy class rather like a small lazeeboy chair – it is comfortable!!!! And so many people had been diverted to their destinations on other flights that the cabin was half-empty. After queuing for immigration ‘next’ turned out to be a shuttle to the LA Hilton. Time for a shower and three hours sleep (wish it had been six) before another shuttle bus back to LAX for the last flight from LA to Boston. This was not great, but I am tired (and have finished my reading material, now its the kindle stuff). Amtrak were happy to change my train ticket so I plan to travel to the ferry tomorrow.

However, I have also discovered that all ferries to Block Island today were cancelled, so I would not have got home anyway, and tomorrow they should be running as normal.

The “dubious” philosophy: Let it happen. Enjoy not being responsible for anything much. I feel there must be a fault with this outlook somewhere, but it will certainly do for now, and it certainly fits with traveling.

(and it also fits Sidey’s weekend theme which is “dubious”)

11 thoughts on “Traveler’s tale and dubious philosophy

  1. Dear eppy Nobody can keep up with you. But all sounds exciting. Mike and I have just got home having been to qft to see philomena. It was a pretty griping story! Still feel a bit stunned. Crawfie is coming tomorrow. Enjoy until you get to block island. Love irene

    Like

    1. Philomena gets great reviews – but is a story of horrible cruelty in the name of ‘doing good’ – not surprising you are stunned. I am getting back to another land of people who know best I will have to watch out. xx E

      Like

  2. But at least you missed this…..”Los Angeles International Airport was locked down Friday after a man with an assault rifle shot a TSA agent and two other people”.

    Boston is a good place to be, close to your Block, hope you have a good view. Boston is ‘wicked’, so they say -well they say it themselves, constantly.

    ‘LET IT HAPPEN’ is applicable in everyday life. I confess at times I should have it tattooed on my forehead or a t-shirt would suffice. Or, going to a country where bicycle or horse taxi is the main transportation and toilet paper is rarer than a toilet seat, all has a humbling affect

    Like

    1. We on the plane heard about this shooting (two hours after our take-off) as soon as we landed. The woman in front of me had phone messages asking if she was OK and others too had the info on their phones. NOT a ‘let it happen’ sort of thing if we had been closer than we were, but we wouldn’t have had a choice there – see last post about response not choice. Why does almost everyone find something more interesting if they have been a little bit nearer to it themselves? It isn’t more important because I walked through that international terminal only a few hours ago. I am glad I am here.

      Like

      1. Why good question. And there is some us who don’t speak of our trials and tribulations, out of respect for those who have it much worst.

        Like

        1. Right. Empathy. Able to feel for others. Maybe that’s part of the answer to why – if I was close to the event, or the person, the feeling kicks in more strongly in a ‘could have been me’ sort of way. Like when you drive past the scene of an accident your driving improves for a while.

          Like

  3. I like your travel philosophy. It is a fault of mine that I tend to fret at delays, but at least I don’t go to the extreme of ranting at the poor person at the desk because, for example, weather has closed an airport.

    Like

    1. Think I am developing a similar attitude all round, whether it is wonderful or not, I discover the less I use energy for the sort of self assertion/complaint/control process, which is useless, the more energy I have for real enjoyment.

      Like

What do you think?

