Freedom From Mental Illness

Another blog found serendipity rules! Spent a lot of this week working on the NAMI BI Summer program here – our aim to reduce the stigma associated with mental illness… start to see some of the creativity also there…

Broken Light: A Photography Collective

Photo taken by a contributor who suffers from both mood and personality disorders that often leave her feeling depressed or panicked. She uses art and photography as a part of her therapeutic process, in addition to therapy and medication.

About this photo: “I dream of a day when I can feel free from the chains of mental illness. When I can let loose and have fun as I see others do. Playing, enjoying, frolicking carefree in the sand. Unfortunately, every time I think I’m getting close and I can see that freedom just ahead, a wave comes, knocking me down and washing those dreams away. 

I took this photo to hold on to that moment of hope. The moment before it gets washed away. And just maybe one day that wave won’t come and knock me back down. Maybe.

_____

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Facebook &…

View original post 8 more words

2 thoughts on “Freedom From Mental Illness

  1. What an exciting prospect, Elspeth the life of the mind is such an engrossing one. I’m having to learn about redo waves and how they travel, all over again at the moment. Absorbing, it is.

    Like

What do you think?

