Meditations on a rock, or two

IMG_7629

This is the rock that started the meditation. On another pebbly beach walk with Finlay, chucking stones in the water for him to wallow and splash, I found this one, and hefted its weight in my hand, explored the patterns. They reminded me of the patterns in the sand, on Crescent beach, from a previous year.

So as well as throwing the rocks, I took photos. I have long since given up the “put them in my pocket” collecting syndrome. There are too many. They are always various and beautiful, they remind me of the age and heft of the ages that formed our world. They remind me that everything, however simple, is complex. Depends on your point of view, does it not?

I am busy trying to order complex thinking into something simple. Not happening. Reading Will Black: Psychopathic Cultures and Toxic Empires. Masochist. Me. Still very impressed by Paul Hoggett: Identity Politics and Emotion and the analysis of perverse social structures he made. (same thing?? one journalistic, one academic??)It is not the description or the analysis I want, but the how an ordinary person can create an antidote to something that an ordinary person knows quite well is toxic, no matter how it has been caused. Be part of the solution, even though so many of us are part of the problem too. One way – join and campaign for Monetary Reform. Another way – mindfulness and meditation – and then talk talk talk listen listen listen to all the other ordinary people you meet.

Getting round to writing some of my own thoughts. [over here but very disorganised and experimental – thinking in progress. I just find it easier now to do it online.]

5 thoughts on “Meditations on a rock, or two

  1. Hello Elspeth,

    As always, you have something very interesting to say about seemingly “ordinary” things.

    These stones are beautiful, I have one or two exactly the same because, unlike you, I cannot resist putting them in my pocket.

    You have the power to deeply disturb me though. I have spent so many years trying to avoid over-thinking and there you are, making me think again!!

    Poor Terence, every time I say to him “I was thinking”, he puts his head in his hands and groans. He says that just means more work for him and he’s right.

    On a more serious note, I do deplore our actions as humans on this planet. Where did it all start? Why don’t we stop the destruction? When there is no planet left, where we will go? What do parents tell their children and grandchildren? Sorry we messed up? This is one of the few times in my life that I am glad I don’t have children because I would be so ashamed of the state I have left our home in. I do subscribe to Greenpeace and a few others but it is such a small contribution when I see, on a daily basis, the human and animal disintegration.

    My health is so fragile that, in trying to protect myself, I stopped buying a daily newspaper and stopped watching the news – why is it all bad news? Martin Lewis asked the same question many years ago and was publicly vilified and viciously attacked for even mentioning it. What does that say about our society?

    Oh dear God, you got me thinking again!!

    I don’t know whether to thank you or not………………….

    But I do love you, so that makes it all right.

    Enjoy your stone throwing – in every way.

    Best love,

    Angela and One Very Spoiled Cat.

    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah ha – I never called it stone throwing before but you have outed me, I want everyone to think. However, maybe like Terence, and maybe like my son here Finlay’s rightful person who has called me “the professor”, I do not want thinking to be that awful heavy stuff. I like the light kind, just helps a little bit awareness, a little bit beauty, and a good dollop of fun too. Keep well, we all look after ourselves our own way. XOXO

      Like

  2. I always wonder what we would see if we could tap into the history, or ‘memory’ of the rocks and pebbles we come across, Elspeth. I think this about a lot of things, actually… old buildings, items, trees etc. You’re right about there being so many of them – but isn’t it odd how some ‘speak’ to us whereas others are just stone…

    Like

    1. We – our conservation crowd – were talking about something like this, acknowledging that landscape or place is always changing and ‘conservation’ does not mean putting it back to some mythical fixed identity. that somehow we sense the sort of change we want, some speak, some do not. I am wondering if the rocks that are ‘just stone’ just have not been tumbled around enough yet? Maybe they need a bit more history? Those that have had too much of it are now the sand.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

