My background

I was brought up in a small village in Ulster, the second of three daughters. I think my parents were ‘humanists’ although they would not have used a label. In Northern Ireland, Ulster, we were a family of outsiders who did not go to any church, but also in the village were a family well-known, well-regarded and accepted. When I left home for university (at Queens, Belfast) the ‘troubles’ had not yet begun. When they did, my then husband and I were living and working in London, and had small children.

London is where I began my work-life and met the psychoanalytic people, friends, therapists, colleagues, who have influenced me most, though I have never become a qualified therapist. I moved into work as a psychodynamic practitioner, interested in change: people, communities, groups, organizations. But, I began as a teacher, five years in ‘nursery schools’, thanks to the then Inner London Education Authority, a return to my love of maths/science via a PhD in history of science with Heinz Post at what was then Chelsea College, University of London, then physics teaching, then to Edinburgh to become a teacher trainer. I thought I would be teaching ‘ways to teach science’ but it was then 1990, so I became a trainer of anyone, and any profession who came by. Hence, practice as a ‘psychodynamic practitioner’. I found myself teaching ’emotional education’ and ‘social justice’ by which I mean fair practice, anti-discrimination, celebration of difference, etc. and this is still my greatest interest though I think the way there has yet to be found, and that a variety of different processes, at every level from individual to community to government, will need to develop. I believe this includes understanding and using our feelings well.

I have never returned to live in Ireland, I feel I am from the one world, and do not feel ‘Irish’. My work, my family and my friends are my chief interests/occupations. Since retirement, my work is my passion for a fairer world. I feel like a scientist, and love its search for understanding where we live. I have three much loved sons and two very wonderful daughters-in-law, who come from opposite sides of the world, USA and China. I have three very beautiful grand-daughters, the USA family, and two grandsons, twins, born in China, and in a short life so far have moved several times between New Zealand (Palmerston North) and China (Guangzhou, Huaxi, Shanghai, Guangzhou again). I have been in all these places with them. I have two sisters, a niece and a nephew, and my niece has twice made me a grand-aunt. I spend much time with books, art or films, now with my laptop also, but enjoy most the variety of things that involve walking, cycling and outdoors. I am trying to learn Chinese, since 2004 have often visited my in-laws in China, have been to chinese schools in Beijing and Guangzhou and lived with chinese families.

I have one home in Edinburgh, and one in USA near where my grand-daughters live. Both are small apartments, get rented, or are shared between me and the lodger, as there is no way I can manage two homes otherwise. I might be visiting, China or New Zealand or Ireland are the most likely, but there are other places where extended family and friends live. And, a lot of other places I might like to see!

The blog tells you where I am at any one time.

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “My background

    1. If I had asked twenty years ago what I would be doing in 2012, I could not have imagined how it would be… I do think when I see the reasons for not doing something, I look for ways to make it happen anyway. Isn’t that what you are doing in your family too, making things possible? Good luck with it, enjoy the present!

      Like

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s