Wonderful Walks

This April, here in Edinburgh as in many other places, the weather has been somewhat unusual, to say the least. Rain, heavy, hail, unexpected, winds, and interspersed with everything sunshine and skies that invite me out. So, out I go, last Sunday to Blackford Pond and Hill, and today, to the Botanic Gardens and then along the Warriston Path to Leith. I have many photos from both walks, some of each below.

I went to Blackford to see how the swans are doing, given the rain and the sodden ground everywhere. This pair have been on the pond for many years now, their island home has been flooded before, and sure enough it was underwater, hardly visible at all, but a great big pile of sticks has been set up at the end among the rushes, and the swans seem to be happily ensconced there, regardless of people who stare and take photos from the nearby path. After walking round the pond, carefully skirting nearly impassable mud and puddles, I went further up the hill, and as always am entranced by the many trees and their shapes before the summer leaves come, and also the colours of the wild flowers and gorse.

Notice the wild garlic too, blogs can’t offer the smell and I didn’t take videos, so no sounds of the birds that were singing everywhere. I did use the Merlin bird sounds app, and it told me that as well as the swans, coots, moorhens and ducks, Blackford is home to many songbirds. I was only able to see a few of them, I could hear the wren, but not see it. I did see a wren in a hedge by a bus stop the other day though, and I know we have one in the back garden so maybe I will see it one day soon. They are so small and have such a big voice they always seem very special. The warbler was new to me, I don’t think we have a warbler in the street I live on, though the other birds can be heard there.

Today’s walk (walk and talk with friend H, thanks for company) began with strolling through the gardens which are always wonderful at every season of the year. Trees, blossoms, rhododendrons, small spring flowers, and vistas everywhere. I had an over-riding impression of delicacy and underlying strength, with so much care and expertise somewhere in the background.

Readers know I am concerned about the climate warming and the many crises this brings. These walks offset the anxieties, change them from despairs and persecutions into concerns, and recognition that life keeps on going, there are many caring people around, and a great deal of beauty. I can be angry (especially at the wars and destructions that occupy news items) but at the same time, I am happy. Lucky me. I hope you are well too.


What do you think?